Uber cancellation charge: How to get your Money back if it's not your fault

Uber cancellation charge: How to get your Money back if it's not your fault
Uber cancellation charge: How to get your Money back if it's not your fault

Low-cost taxi service Uber is sweeping through the cities of India and most passengers reach their destination without a hitch.

But the app, which connects licensed private hire drivers with those looking for a ride, charges you minimum ride charges around Rs 150/- if you cancel a ride more than five minutes after you booked.

This might stop drunks summoning drivers for no reason, but it can be a pain if there is a genuine problem with your ride or network or mobile or something else.

How to cancel a ride and get your Money back

Indian Rupees
Indian Rupees

If you cancel the ride within five minutes of booking there is no charge.

If you cancel afterwards, you will be charged. But if there’s a genuine reason, reply to Uber telling the company what happened.

An Uber spokesman said: “If a rider had to cancel their car because of a driver issue, they simply need to reply to the receipt they receive from us and let us know what happened and we will refund it.”

“In the case of Uber, you shouldn't be charged the cancellation fee if the driver cancels the booking due to being unable to locate you.

“On the other hand, if you've cancelled the booking yourself because the driver can't find you, then you may be charged.

However, in our experience with Uber, we've found that they have a very reasonable customer service support team, and are likely to refund any reasonable requests.”


You may cancel your request without charge for up to 5 minutes after your driver accepts your trip.

Cancellations made after 5 minutes will incur a fee to compensate your driver for his or her time. If your driver waits more than five minutes after arriving at your request location and cancels the trip, you will be charged a cancellation fee.

Please note: if your driver is running more than 5 minutes behind the provided ETA, you will not be charged a cancellation fee.

What’s the Uber cancellation policy? 

That’s a question uber get a lot – and until now, like a bad Facebook status, it was complicated. Drivers feeling burned after long pickups. Riders getting surprised by drivers showing up in 30 seconds (yes, it happens :) …)

Now, you will be charged a  cancellation fee only if you cancel more than 5 minutes after your driver has been assigned.

Why the change?

  • Simplicity – Peace of mind knowing you have 5 minutes to cancel in case something comes up.
  • Fairness – Drivers make a commitment to come to you after they accept a trip request. It costs them time and money to get to you. After more than 5 minutes, it’s only fair that drivers are compensated for the time spent.
  • A Better Uber – When riders cancel frequently, drivers feel burned and are less likely to accept pickups. This leads to drivers rejecting longer pickups or calling clients to make sure that they want a pickup. Uber is efficient and elegant transportation. Unnecessary phone calls and rejected pickups are not Uber.

The fine print:

If you cancel within 5 minutes, you won’t be charged.
If you tap the cancel button after 5 minutes, we will let you know that a fee will apply if you confirm the cancellation.
If for any reason your driver takes too long to get to you (the current ETA prediction for your driver shows the driver would arrive 5 minutes over the original ETA we provided) then the cancellation charge will be waived.
If you are not at the pickup location or your driver cannot get in touch with you, our cancellation fee will still apply.
So be sure to cancel as soon as possible to avoid a charge and more importantly, maintain the Uber equilibrium of happy riders and happy drivers :) And as always, if you have a question about a charge, just reply to your email receipt or reach out to your city’s community manager.

NOTE: cancellation fee will be in your local currency.
If you believe you were charged unfairly, please share details below so that we may follow up.

For reference, I have done so, here is mail transcript..

Manpreet Singh1 (Uber)
Aug 6, 23:43

Hi Abhishek,

Sorry to hear about the trouble with this pickup.

Cancellation fees are applied automatically by the system when a trip is cancelled after five minutes.

Since it doesn't seem that this fee was charged fairly in this case, I added the amount of your cancellation fee to your account. (Money reflected in my Paytm Account)

We're always happy to take a look if you think you've been charged unfairly.


Manpreet Singh1

abhishek maurya
Aug 6, 23:31

It was a one off issue. Now my app is working fine in all the network cases. I just pointed out to say that due to network issue I was charged for trip cancellation.

Anyway leave it.


abhishek maurya

Manpreet Singh1 (Uber)
Aug 6, 23:27

Hi Abhishek,

Sorry to hear about the trouble with this.Happy to lend a hand so you can get riding again.I would request you to please elaborate the concern .

This issue most often pops up when a wireless network interferes with your phone’s connection to Uber. The best way to fix this would be to switch your phone off of the WiFi network and use your cellular data connection to connect to Uber.

If you're seeing this issue only while on your cellular connection and not over WiFi, it’s likely a carrier issue that we aren't able to address. Calling them directly to resolve may be your best bet.

Let me know if this issue persists — changing your account password, and deleting and reinstalling the app are some other steps we can try to get you moving.

Regards ,

Manpreet Singh1

abhishek maurya
Aug 2, 23:36

I was in Pune for a Day and network was very bad in mobile on the location, After booking when I connected back I realized the location picked by app was wrong so I cancelled it. I tried to book it again but then again same network problem. I asked my friend to boo it for me. However I booked few more trips on the same day.

Most important links to check next ...

Still looking for ideas: 7 ways to save money while shopping online